- ReferenceZ1073
- TitleRecords of Bedford Ladies Rowing Club
- Date free text1954-1973
- Production dateFrom: 1954 To: 1974
- Admin/biog historyIn the 1950s Jack Bowers encouraged and coached Gill Bryant and Jenne Howard in the art of sculling. In 1954 it was decided to form a ladies rowing club with two Fours and some second hand blades known as 'winkle pickers'. They boated out of Batts Ford rented out by RAF Cardington. In 1956 the facilities were redeveloped with ladies changing room, toilet and bar. In 1957 a crew was entered for the Womens Eights Tideway Head of the River. The crew trained in two fours and the jumped into a borrowed eight on the day. In 1960 training intensified resulting in a four being part of the Great Britain squad at the European championships held on the Welsh Harp at Willesden in London. 1963 saw the first ladies regatta to be held at Bedford with a 1,000 metre course. Between 1960 and 1964 Penny Chuter, Gt Britain's sculling representative at the European Championships joined the club whilst at Bedford Physical Training College. Penny passed on her experience and expertise to members. In 1964 through the Amateur Rowing Association and the Womens ARA, cadet rowing was encouraged for boys and girls under the age of 18. Bedford High School became affiliated to Bedford Ladies RC but as it was outside their curriculum training proved very difficult. In 1966 a ladies section was included in the Bedford Head of the River for the first time. The club became part of the Star club in 1973/4.
- Level of descriptionfonds
- Persons/institution keyword
- Keywords
Hierarchy browser